Leana Wen out as president of Planned Parenthood due to …

By Daniel Uria  (0) Planned Parenthood announced the departure of president Leana Wen, who cited "philosophical differences" as the reason for her exit. Photo by John Angelillo/UPI | License Photo July 16 (UPI) -- Planned Parenthood on Tuesday announced the departure of president Leana Wen, who said they had engaged in negotiations about "philosophical differences" about the future [...]

2019-07-17T13:56:50+00:00July 17th, 2019|

SFPD illegally obtained DNA in ‘Rideshare Rapist’ case

By Daniel Uria  (0) July 17 (UPI) -- A year ago, San Francisco prosecutors announced they'd captured the man known as the "Rideshare Rapist" -- a driver responsible for a string of Bay Area sexual assaults. But a judge in the case is now hearing from multiple people the DNA evidence against him was obtained illegally [...]

2019-07-17T13:46:23+00:00July 17th, 2019|

Park visitor filmed confronting bears, mother bear charges

By Ben Hooper  (0) July 15 (UPI) -- A national park in Tennessee is reminding visitors to stay clear of wildlife after a man was filmed being charged by a mother bear after approaching her cubs. Paige Marple said she was filming a family of bears at Cades Cove National Park when a man approached the animals [...]

2019-07-16T14:09:00+00:00July 16th, 2019|

Missouri woman tracks down her stolen SUV, takes it back

By Ben Hooper  (0) July 15 (UPI) -- A Missouri woman whose car was stolen while she was picking up her daughter performed some detective work of her home and stole the vehicle back. Danielle Reno of Kansas City said she was only out of her Toyota 4Runner for a few short moments while picking up [...]

2019-07-16T14:04:46+00:00July 16th, 2019|

Italian police seize missile, weapons cache from

Special forces officers inspect an air-to-air missile seized during an operation against the extreme right in Turin, Italy, on Monday. Photo by Tina Romano/EPA-EFE July 15 (UPI) -- A police task force in Turin, Italy, seized an air-to-air missile along with dozens of other weapons during raids on far-right extremists, law enforcement officials said Monday. Turino [...]

2019-07-16T13:55:48+00:00July 16th, 2019|

U.S. should skip moon, head for Mars, Apollo 11’s Michael Collins says

Michael Collins practices in a simulator on June 19, 1969, at Kennedy Space Center. Apollo 11 landed on the lunar surface weeks later on July 20. File Photo courtesy of NASA | License Photo ORLANDO, Fla., July 15 (UPI) -- Apollo 11 Astronaut Michael Collins is glad to hear more talk about missions to Mars as Saturday's 50th anniversary [...]

2019-07-15T14:28:38+00:00July 15th, 2019|

Drivers stop on Georgia highway to grab flying cash

By Ben Hooper  (1) July 10 (UPI) -- Police in Georgia are warning witnesses who grabbed cash that flew from the back of an armored truck on the highway that they could face charges if they don't return the money. Witnesses captured video Tuesday evening when an armored truck travelingon Interstate 285 near Ashford Dunwoody Road, near Atlanta, lost [...]

2019-07-15T14:22:21+00:00July 15th, 2019|

Puerto Rico governor faces calls to resign over leaked chat

By Clyde Hughes  (0) Puerto Rico Gov. Ricardo Rossello is seen during a meeting with President Donald Trump at the White House on October 19, 2017.  File Photo by Kevin Dietsch/UPI | License Photo July 15 (UPI) -- Puerto Rico Gov. Ricardo Rossello is under pressure to resign after leaked online private group chats between he and [...]

2019-07-15T14:03:19+00:00July 15th, 2019|

Watch: U.S. Coast Guard apprehends narco-sub with 16,000 pounds of cocaine

By Darryl Coote  (1) July 12 (UPI) -- Vice President Mike Pence called the seizure of more than 39,000 pounds of cocaine and 933 pounds of marijuana worth a combined $569 million by the U.S. Coast Guard "historic." At the Naval Air Station North Island in San Diego, Calif., Pence congratulated the crews of three Coast Guard cutters [...]

2019-07-12T14:01:18+00:00July 12th, 2019|